The Common Thread

Yesterday I made my way back to Minnesota after having visited Texas. During the drive from Minneapolis through the farm lands of Minnesota back to Ottertail, I had great conversation with my friends Nate and Adam. We were talking about, life, ministry, family, and work, then Nate said something related to the people he works with, the result of which is this blog. During our talk he said something to the effect of, “I don’t want to casually or even jokingly talk down to people that are around me.” He followed by saying something about the people he works with being “piles,”  short for piles of crap, in the way that they behave, treat people, talk, and the way they live out their lives. That was the trigger. Piles.

I have been guilty so many times of looking at people and thinking to myself, “What a bunch of idiots!” People living their lives for themselves, and their existence dependent upon the things of this world, but there is something powerfully humbling that happens when you say those things and you bring immediate correction to your mind. When did I stop having a need for a savior? Since when did I become clean, spotless, and blameless on our own doing? (humility alert… incoming!)

You see, there is something so very close to my heart and it is this fact; you and I share a common thread with all of humanity, as lost as some people are, our need for Jesus is and will always be equal. Yes, I have received salvation, but my need for the Grace of God in my life today is as strong as it was yesterday. My need for the guidance of the Holy Spirit, is as present today as it was yesterday. And my need for the pure love of the Father remains unchanged. When we come to that mind-bending/correcting realization that all “those people” are a clear reflection of our lives without God, then we being to see people differently and true compassion makes it’s way into our hearts.

I don’t know why it takes so long for some things to drop from our heads to our hearts, I know it’s lack of humility a lot of the times, but I’m so grateful for the Holy Spirit to bring insight when my heart isn’t equipped to do so. I want my life to reflect Jesus, and His reasoning for doing what He did was never laced with obligation or coercion, but it flowed from a heart that was filled with compassion. Romans 3:24 reminds us that, “[All] are justified and made upright and in right standing with God, freely and gratuitously BY HIS GRACE (His unmerited favor and mercy), through the redemption which is [provided] in Christ Jesus.”

This is our most powerful of testimonies, that the acceptance of Jesus’ sacrifice has made us who we are. Walk in humility, reminded that saved or unsaved, we share the same consistent need with all the world, our need for the Savior.

Coty.

~ by cotysloan on November 14, 2011.

2 Responses to “The Common Thread”

  1. Wow excellent reminder! I personally have been revamping my lifestyle lately and keep getting things like this popping up in my life to keep me on course. Thank you for being diligent and for posting! Keep on loving brother!!! God Bless you!!!

  2. Good word, Coty! Reminds me of Chris Muglia song, I Need A Savior. You might want to give it a listen & consider for vocal. It would incorporate your violin & your voice,and your heart..??….just a thought. Good Word, regardless, thank you for sharing !

Leave some love

 
